Dayakar wins in Warangal with a record margin of 4.6 lakh votes


Pasunoori Dayakar of ruling TRS, who won the Warangal Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday, created a record in Telangana by winning with a margin of nearly 4.6 lakh votes.


Earlier, state Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao held the record having won by a margin of nearly four lakh votes (3,97,029) during the last year’s general election from Medak Lok Sabha constituency. He contested for both Parliament and Assembly constituencies and later resigned for the Lok Sabha seat.

Dayakar polled 6,15,403 votes as he humbled Congress nominee and former Union minister Sarve Satyanarayana (1,56,311) and BJP-TDP combine’s Pagidipati Devaiah (BJP) (1,30,178) in the November 21 bypoll.


KCR’s daughter and Nizamabad MP K Kavitha said the rejection of BJP and Congress in the bypoll shows the confidence of people in the ruling TRS.
“The growing majority indicates growing confidence in the government and its policies,” she said.


Kavitha said the government was able to solve the power crisis in the state and that gave confidence to the people that the government can fulfil all its promises.


The bypoll was necessitated following the resignation of Kadiyam Srihari after he was made Deputy Chief Minister.  Srihari had won by a margin of 3,92,574 votes in the 2014 general election which has been surpassed by Dayakar. Srihari had then defeated his nearest rival S Rajaiah (Cong), who got 2,69,065 votes, in the last year’s polls.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a comment

Leave a reply