Re-polling in Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections ordered a day before results

Gujarat Legislative Assembly

Re-polling in Gujarat Legislative Assembly elections ordered a day before results.

Just a day before when the actual results of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly Elections were to be declared, the Election Commission of India has decided to order repolling in as many as six polling booth stations.

The repolling is underway in the six stations including Vadgam, Daskroi and Savli. Following is the complete list of the polling booths where the elections are being held again.

Vadgam- wherein the Chhaniyan 1 and the Chhanniyan 2 booth are seeing a repoll.

Viramgam- wherein repolling is being conducted in Booth #27.

Daskroi- where re-polling is conducted in the Nava Naroda Booth

And Savli, where the repoling is held in two booths, namely- Nhara 1 and Sakarda 7 booths respectively.

The re-polling is conducted for the second phase of Gujarat Legislative Assembly Elections. The Legislative Assembly Elections in Gujarat were held in two phases on December 8, 2017 and December 14, 2017 respectively.

The reasons for this re-polling is cited to be certain technical faults and glitches and hence fresh rounds of voting are inevitable. The Election Commission of India also ordered this re-polling because of counting errors in almost ten booths in various constituencies. The voting is also needed again because this time as many as ten booths used Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail because the Presiding Officers of these constituencies and voting booths forgot to wipe the mock vote counting the the EVM Machines.

With the help of te VVPAT slips, or the Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail slips, the vote counting is conducted in Ralisn 3 in Visnagar, Katosan 3 and Piludra 1, various booths of Becharaji, Vejalpur 50, Jamatha of Modassa, Vastral-55 of Vatva, Pilol 2 of Savli, Khadiya 16 of Jamalpur Khadiya Songie and Gojpur booths of Sankheda constituency.

Approximately 68.70 per cent polling was conducted on December 14, 2017 in Gujarat for the Legislative Assembly Elections and the voting was held in as many as 93 constituencies all across 14 districts in the Northern and the Central parts of Gujarat.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a comment

Leave a reply